Anne With An E

Anne of Green Gables was a book I read when I was younger. Anne’s quirkiness and wild sense of imagination attracted me to the book, and, of course, Gilbert Blythe, who sadly did not age as I did, made my adolescent heart beat for the first time.

You can imagine my excitement when I found out about a Netflix adaptation of this book, so as soon as it came out, I checked it out.

Image result for anne with an e

Episode 1: “Your Will Shall Decide Your Destiny”

I loved Anne the moment I saw her and heard her speak! It felt like the girl I had in my head as I read this book came to life! She was funny, dramatic, and sad. I fell in love with her instantly.

Then I met Marilla Cuthbert! I loved her even more. She plays the classic character of tough cookie with a soft center so well.

I honestly could have picked a better Matthew Cuthbert.

This episode stuck to the book with a few alterations and additions which I did not mind at all. It felt nostalgic just to see Green Gables and everything that I imagined it to be as if appear before my very eyes!

Episode 2: “I Am No Bird, and No Net Ensnares Me”

What happened to this episode!!! This plot never happened in the book! Anne would never EVER do that. They made Matthew seem like a hopeless puppy. I did not like this. The only thing that motivated me to move to the next episode was the possibility of seeing Gilbert already.

Episode 3: But What Is So Headstrong as Youth?

Well played, Netflix. Well played.

Image result for gilbert blythe anne with an e

Gilbert is PERFECT!

Their chemistry will be the only reason I will go on watching this show. I revert back to my 12-year old self as I relive the Anne and Gilbert banter and everything else that came along with it. I say it again… WELL PLAYED. This right here is why I will recommend this to you and to my peers.

Gilbert and Anne sitting in a tree. 🙂

Based on these three episodes I say BINGEWORTHY to Anne with and E.

I fear though that they will ruin the original plot line. I guess I’ll watch it as a separate story and just fall in love with Gilbert all over again (which I’m willing to do!)

logo

P.S. The opening credits is AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

